And it begins…

So remember that post from 2 days ago? How I was saying that the studying wasn’t that bad and that I was actually enjoying myself? Well the universe must’ve sensed the wrongness in that, and quickly set to getting it right. The very next day after I wrote that post (so, yesterday) was hell. It started out innocent enough, with a professional communications class for 2 hours. Then we hit physiological chem… We got a new professor today, and he just talks so fast, and skims through difficult material. This was how I described it to some classmates: He just opened his mouth, and all this SHIT just poured out of it that didn’t make any sense, and he didn’t close his mouth until class was over. We all felt pummeled after that 50 minutes (which felt like 3 hours!). The only good thing is that there is a word document posted that helps quite a bit, and actually explains the power point slides pretty well. So I reviewed last night, and felt better about it this morning.

But then there was anatomy. We were studying the bones of the thoracic (front) limb. Can’t be that bad, right? There are 4 major bones and then the small bones of the carpus, metacarpus, and phalanges. That’s nothing. Well… on those 4 major bones (scapula, humerus, radius, and ulna), we have to know everything! Every bump, every ridge, every surface, everything that anyone has decided to ever give a name to. It was intense, and it made everyone’s brain mush. It took my group then entire lab period of 3 hours to get through those 4 bones… we gave up when we hit the carpals. Our brains were at capacity for the day! This morning I went into school early and spent about an hour and a half in the anatomy lab reviewing. I still have a lot more work to do!

Physiological chem wasn’t nearly as bad today, thankfully. And the only other class we had was behavior, which is fun. Histology got canceled this morning and tomorrow morning. Tomorrow will be fun, I have the small mammal handling lab! I get to play with mice, rats, ferrets, and maybe some other small furry creatures. :) So really, I am still enjoying myself. Yesterday just put a bit of fear into me, haha.

Scott will be here on Friday! Oh, I can’t wait to see and spend time with my husband. :) It is very much needed right now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

