Tired like Whoa

So it turns out I ended up doing really well on the anatomy exam, yay!! I was freaked at first, because the written and multiple choice sections came back first, and I just did so-so, even after all of that studying. But I concentrated more on the practical identification stuff, and I did extremely well on that. Now I’m happy with my grade, woo. The only disconcerting thing is that yesterday in anatomy lecture our professor said that the next exam is going to be much harder and we’ll have to spend much more time studying for it. Um. I don’t think that’s possible. So now I’m scared again. Welcome to vet school, I guess.

This past weekend Scott came to visit, and I didn’t do a single school related thing. Well, that’s not true, but I didn’t do any studying. I did an event with VSO (Veterinary Student Outreach) where we talked to incoming college freshmen and high school kids about how to prepare to apply to vet school, which was a lot of fun. Other than that, we just laid around, relaxed, and ate good food. It was amazing to have him here, and I cried at the airport when he left. It’s so hard to be here without him, so I guess it’s a good thing that I’m so busy. It gives me less time to pine!

I started CAPE treatment crew yesterday, and I’m loving it! CAPE is Companion Avian and Exotic Pets, and they treat small mammals (guinea pigs, rats, mice, etc.), birds, reptiles, and wildlife. I signed up for a 2 week rotation where I help with 7am treatments, and it’s already a lot of fun. I make meals and clean cages, but am also allowed to get some hands-on experience. Yesterday was a little slow, with a bearded dragon and a cockatiel as the only patients. There’s also a cockatoo that lives there permanently. Today was much busier, with two turkeys, two guinea pigs, and a baby kestrel added as inpatients. I helped take care of the bearded dragon, gave a small turkey SQ fluids (a first for me!), and gave the cutest long-haired guinea pig oral meds along with the usual cage cleaning and meal and med preparation.

The only down side is that it’s a 7am, so I’m up at 5:30am. And this week is brutal. I didn’t get home yesterday until 7pm: class all day until 5pm and then helping with the Hill’s distribution. Every day this week I have class till 5. I also need to study every night to prepare for the upcoming pchem, anatomy, and histo exams and epidemiology final (all before November 10th). Ugh. Dark circles under the eyes are hot, right? Because if so, I’m going to be the hottest chick around by the end of this week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

