Study Study Study

It is officially on. The next five weeks (holy crap, five weeks until the end of the quarter, what?!) are going to be crazy. Yesterday’s anatomy exam was really tough. I completely missed out on Halloween to study all weekend, in the lab mostly. However, while I can tell you every nerve and artery of the brachial plexus and thoracic limb on a whole, completely dissected cadaver, it’s much harder on a disarticulated limb. Especially when only enough skin/fascia/muscle has been cut away to see that one tiny branch. It was way harder without my landmarks. Plus, the written portion was all written, so we really had to know the material. Luckily, I still think I did okay, but not as well as I would’ve liked. Which is the same story with last week’s pchem exam, ugh. Thursday we have a histology exam, Monday our epidemiology final, and they just keep coming after that.

I think the hardest thing for me has been studying more than I’ve ever studied before to get a grade a couple points above or below the class average. I’m not competitive with others, but I am very hard on myself. Plus I worry about being competitive for residencies. I know there aren’t very many lab animal vet students, but there are even fewer residencies. And they request and look at your vet school transcripts. So the saying “C=DVM” doesn’t really fly with me, unfortunately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

