In full swing

Spring quarter is off to a pretty awesome start. So far I like all of my classes (except yesterday’s urinary systems lab was a bit more chemistry and math than I’d like…). All of our professors seem really great, fun, and approachable, and lectures are pretty interesting so far. And Tuesday I had a parasitology lab that was pretty rad, using different methods to analyze soil and cow, sheep, horse, dog, and cat poo (yes, I realize that this does not qualify as “rad” to most people). Sure it was smelly and kind of gross, but once the slides made it under the microscope it was totally fascinating.

But the best part of this week was definitely Monday afternoon. I got to go out to the California National Primate Research Center with a few other members of the Lab Animal Medicine Club and conduct a physical on a rhesus macaque. They were anesthetized by a vet and an anesthesiologist. Then they went over how to conduct a physical exam and oversaw everything we did. I got to do a head to toe physical, draw blood (it was a blind femoral stick – slightly intimidating!), place an IV catheter, place an endotracheal tube, and ultrasound the liver (the first time I had conducted an ultrasound). I learned a ton and got to practice clinical skills on animals I will probably be working with for the rest of my life. It was the most amazing experience!! It really reminds me why I’m here and helps keep me motivated :) I am so grateful to be a student here, at the most amazing vet school ever. I don’t know who decided that it was a good idea to let me become a doctor, but I’m glad they did!

And more proof this school is amazing – on Saturday I get to spend the entire day at the Monterey Bay Aquarium for free, thanks to WAAM (Wildlife and Aquatic Animal Medicine club)! This will include a behind the scenes tour with the curator and some time with the veterinarian, as well as lots of free time to explore the aquarium on our own. It’s a three hour drive, and that’s a little rough, but I’m super excited because it will totally be worth it!

Seriously. Vet school = amazing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

