Mental Break

I wake up at 6:30am on Mondays and Wednesdays, because I have an 8am elective. Yeah, that means I chose to get up that early twice a week! But the class is pretty awesome, so it’s totally worth it. This morning, I was awakened by one of my cats jumping onto the bedroom window sill, making the blinds crash. I sleepily looked at the clock, and it was 8:30. Um… oops! I overslept by 2 hours! I could’ve jumped out of bed and made it to school in time to make my 10am class.

But instead… I decided to lay around the house, catch up on my DVR, order pizza, and do absolutely nothing school related. Yes, I have a ton to do (2 projects and a take home exam). I have two exams next week, including a final that is cumulative from the beginning of the school YEAR (yeah, September). I have errands that need to be run and household chores that need to be done. But you know what? Sometimes, you just need a mental break. I needed some time for myself, to just completely relax and lay on the couch watching TV. I should feel guilty, and I did earlier, but I don’t anymore. It was really great to give it all a rest for a day, and I think it’s deserved and necessary from time to time, to maintain sanity.

Missing my husband has been really hard lately. The longer we live apart, the harder it gets. Skype is amazing though, and I don’t know how I’d survive without it. We talked for 2 hours tonight, about everything and anything, laughing and being silly. It really makes a huge difference to see his face when we’re talking, and to see his smile when he laughs. I can’t wait to see him in person again — one week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

