Priorities

Thursday evening I drove to the airport and picked up my husband, who I hadn’t seen in 3 weeks. For me, that is a very long time to not see the love of my life. We relaxed that evening, but I warned him that I would be studying the *entire* weekend. Next week I have two exams: Pharmacology and Bacteriology. I’m pretty frightened of both. So the plan was to hang out the couch all weekend, him watching T.V. and me studying. I figured just having him next to me would be much, much better than nothing.

Friday he came to class with me (though we skipped Oncology to go to breakfast, and skipped Pathology lab because it was 3 hours) and then we went home and stuck to the plan. That evening we went back to campus for the biweekly TG (huge vet school BBQ) to get some food and socialize. Then we stuck to the plan all day Saturday, with my wonderful husband cleaning the cat boxes, going to get breakfast for me, and cooking an amazing dinner (seared scallops!!). I know, I’m totally spoiled.

So everything was going fine until today. I realized that I was wasting precious time with the man I love, who I wouldn’t see again for another 3-4 weeks. Sure we were on the couch next to each other, but that’s really not the same as cuddling and talking on the couch. So I said screw it. I didn’t study for even one minute. We watched football, cuddled on the couch, laid in bed talking, and just had a wonderful lazy day together. There are some things in life that are way more important than getting straight A’s in vet school. I know there are some people who don’t agree with me, but that’s how I feel. And if I get a B on that pharm exam, and it could’ve been an A if I had dedicated today to studying… well that’s a-okay with me. Spending that time with my husband was 100% worth it. Hell, even if I get a C it was worth it. Because my marriage is the most important thing in my life, and my husband is the best thing to ever happen to me… so sometimes, priorities need to be rearranged.

I dropped him off at the airport about an hour ago. I put on waterproof mascara this morning in preparation, because last time he said I looked like The Crow. Now I’m tucked away in my absolute favorite corner of Starbucks, ready to dive into Pharmacology until they kick me out at 1am. And my heart is very, very happy.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Priorities

  1. scott Johnston

    I love you more than anything, ever, in existance. Get an A on that damn exam. My heart sings just at your memory…

    Scott

  2. Sometimes a break like that, one that you totally enjoy is the best thing you can do for yourself. It clears the head and you can feel totally good about getting back to working hard… Good luck…

  3. barefootstingray

    Hey I’m a random 2nd year vet student that found your blog midway through last year. I thought I’d say hi, since I’ve been spying on your blog a bit. hope you don’t mind! :-)

Leave a Reply

