Dude. Never again!

So I have arrived back in Davis. After a very relaxing, very delicious Thanksgiving break. During which I did my hardest to completely forget that I’m in vet school. There was no studying, no work, no anything. I drove down on Sunday morning (I had a derby parade on Saturday) and spent some time with my husband before we headed down to San Diego on Tuesday to spend Thanksgiving with his dad, sister, and their new puppy, Mia.

Wednesday we went out to celebrate my father-in-law’s birthday. We went to Extraordinary Desserts for dinner and, of course, dessert. It was seriously amazing. I was afraid that a place known for their desserts would have only so-so dinner, but that wasn’t the case. The food was delicious, and the dessert was ridiculously awesome.

Then came Thanksgiving dinner. There were only four of us, but holy crap. It was one of the best meals ever. We had my father-in-law’s special brined turkey, that is always super good. We also had mashed potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes (with cinnamon, brown sugar, milk and butter – YUM), two kinds of stuffing (one of which was corn bread based), gravy, sauteed mushrooms, sauteed onions, canned cranberry sauce (ew), homemade cranberry sauce (um, what?! A-mazing), and crescent rolls. Mountains of food, all made by Scott’s dad and sister. And it was so delicious! Oh, and how could I forget dessert – pumpkin pie, pumpkin ice cream, and the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever had. After dinner, I went straight to the couch and immediately fell into a food coma nap. The rest of the day was spent on that couch watching football, snuggling with my husband, and napping on and off. It was pretty much the most perfect Thanksgiving ever. I have a lot to be thankful for…

We left San Diego Friday afternoon, after taking Mia to the dog park and watching her have the best time ever. Saturday night I went out to a skating rink with Tara and then IHOP, and then I left on Sunday. This is where my break turned bad. Very, very, bad.

First, it’s bad enough that break is pretty much over. Also, I’m leaving behind my husband, which breaks my heart every time. So I start down the road at 5pm (a couple hours later than planned, but what can I say? I love my husband!), and it typically takes me 5-5.5 hours to drive from Los Angeles to Davis. I immediately hit post-Thanksgiving traffic. It wasn’t long before I was completely stopped on the freeway. We were stopped so long that I put my car in park and people around me turned their cars OFF. I actually almost ran out of gas once… the gas station was only 8 miles away, but it took me over an HOUR to go that 8 miles. Anyway… the first time I was able to go the speed limit for more than a couple of miles was 90 miles outside of Sacramento. It ended up taking me 8.5 hours to make that drive. Ouch. And I will NEVER AGAIN try to drive back the Sunday of Thanksgiving weekend. I will fly next year. Because now I am completely exhausted, very grumpy, and have to get up for class in 6 hours. Welcome back from break…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

