The beginning of the end

So Spring Break is over and Spring quarter started on Monday… the last couple of months of second year. It’s so crazy to think that I’ll be halfway through vet school soon! I have a pretty crazy class load this quarter, but so far I like most of my classes and I’m excited about finally starting our medicine classes and actually learning how to be a doctor. Here’s what I’m taking:

Sophomore Doctoring
Fundamentals of Zoonoses
Veterinary Food Safety
Veterinary Toxicology
Sophomore Clinical Skills
Principles of Anesthesiology
Clinical Pathology
Systemic Pathology
Medical Primatology
Large Animal Reproduction
Small Animal Medicine I
Food Animal Medicine I
Small Animal Radiology Case Discussions
Small Animal Radiology

So… yeah. It looks like a lot. And it is, it’s 33.3 units. But it’s really not as bad as it looks. Two of the classes will be done by the end of April since they’ve carried over from last quarter, some are short courses that don’t last the entire quarter, and a couple of them are not really classes – clinical skills just means I spend a couple of hours at the VMTH, and small animal radiology case discussions is just sitting and looking at cases – there’s no exam and no attendance. The classes that have me most worried are toxicology, both medicines, and anesthesiology. But I’m also really excited for some of the labs this quarter! Anesthesiology will have us actually anesthetizing and recovering dogs (both exciting AND scary) and in large animal repro I’ll get to palpate pregnant cows, woo!

So it should be a fun and hectic quarter :) And even though it’s only the third day, I’m trying to get a head start on things, so back to studying!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

