Day 43: ART Lab and Necropsy Class

I spent my morning in the ART lab (which I talked about extensively in this post), which is always fascinating. Today they were working on putting clutches of eggs into dishes with sperm collected from males. I got to help out quite a bit, so it was fun and super cool. I was there all morning helping with that, and took a late lunch. After lunch the AHTs had a mouse necropsy class, which was basically the same thing as the workshop that I went to a couple of weeks ago. I was excited for it though, because the more practice I can get the better. Doing necropsies on mice is something I’ll probably be doing my entire life. So we did a full and complete necropsy (one of my fav parts is inflating the lungs with saline by inserting a needle into the trachea – so cool!!) under the guidance of one of the lab animal veterinarians and the necropsy technicians. I really enjoyed it and, though it sounds weird and morbid, had fun. :)

Now I’m hanging until I head over to spin class… I’ve been good this summer! I don’t always eat the way I should, but I’ve been going to spinning 3-5 times a week! I love it and plan on continuing with a place I found near Sacramento. Which reminds me, I don’t think I’ve talked about it, but I moved out of my Davis apartment and will be moving into an amazing two bedroom/two bathroom apartment in Sacramento with a washer and dryer!! And the kicker? It’s about $200 cheaper than my Davis apartment was! I can’t wait. I hate moving, but I like getting into a new place and deciding where everything’s going to go and decorating from scratch! :)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

