My Schedule = Love

I haven’t posted in awhile, and I can’t exactly blame my busy schedule for that. My schedule this quarter is pretty light, and I’m enjoying more free time than I’ve had since starting vet school. Being individual track, I don’t have many required electives, I just have to meet the minimum number of elective units by the end of this school year. And since I loaded up on electives my first two years, that means I don’t have to take many this quarter or next. It’s really nice… I have many days of 10am-12pm class, and it’s amazing. Don’t get me wrong, vet school is still challenging, but I have much more time for myself, and I’m really enjoying it.

The highlights of this quarter so far have definitely been my raptor handling class and surgery lab. In raptor handling I get to catch and restrain raptors and learn techniques such as physical exams and wing wraps. It’s thrilling every time I successfully capture one and am securely holding it with my face still intact. I love it!

Also, this quarter I performed my first feline OVH (ovariohysterectomy – spay). I was terrified. Last quarter I neutered a dog and a handful of cats, but a spay is a completely different matter. It’s much more invasive as it’s actually abdominal surgery. I had anxiety attacks the entire day leading up to it. But I was as prepared as I could be and I did it. :) It was a pretty great feeling to see her the next morning, bright and happy and with a healthy looking incision. Her name was Rajaah and she was about the cutest kitten ever. Thankfully she already had a home waiting for her upon return to the shelter, so I didn’t have to be tempted ;)

As for non-vet school related awesomeness, I have some pretty cool things planned for this quarter and my free time. I’ve been hiking a lot, which I love. Next week I’m actually going snow shoeing up in Tahoe with some friends, which I’ve never done. And in April I’m doing my first mud run, which is both terrifying and exciting. This means I’ve also been eating better and working out in preparation! Then in May I’m going camping for a weekend with friends and Scott in YOSEMITE!! I’ve never been to Yosemite, and I can’t wait!! It’s going to be incredible. :)

I’m enjoying my time now, because in just four months clinics start, and I will be lost from the rest of the world for an entire year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

