Gah! Once again it’s been over a month since I’ve posted. I’ve gotten really lazy about it, enjoying my free time working out, going hiking, hanging out with friends, etc. Third year is by far more relaxed, once past Fall quarter. Last week was rough – 3 exams, surgery (I was anesthetist), and a discussion write up. But that was the only week like that, thank goodness. I have a lot of work to do in the couple of weeks before Spring Break, but not many in class exams. A paper, some group projects, and some take home exams. Stuff that I can do anytime, anywhere, at my own pace.

I’m finding more and more that I love two subjects I didn’t expect to: endocrinology and anesthesia. However, I don’t love either of them enough to completely change my track and try to work towards being specialized. The good thing is that I’ll get plenty of anesthesia exposure as a lab animal vet; but not so much with endocrinology. Hopefully there will be some animal models and I can get my fix that way!

Speaking of being a lab animal vet… it’s absolutely crazy to me that I start clinics in just 3 months – how in the world did that happen?! The last 2-3 years have really flown by! I’m alternatively super excited and super terrified about clinics. They’ll expect me to KNOW THINGS! But when I think about my 12 weeks of externships, I’m super excited :) I can’t wait to work at Johns Hopkins and The Salk Institute – I just know I’m going to learn SO MUCH and work with leaders in the field. Aaahh exciting! And starting clinics in three months (even writing that is still bizarre) means I’ll be a doctor in one year and three months. Fifteen months. Um. What. That blows my mind every time I think about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

